He Celebrated The Months…

 200_s
“I miss him”…
“I know”…
“No, you don’t, you couldn’t possibly know – He was my world, and I was his universe.”
She turned slowly towards me, a half-smile teetering on her trembling lips with a far away and almost otherworldly look in her luminous eyes.
“He loved me for sixty years you know, and for fifty-seven of those years, we were blissfully and happily married”.
“He never counted years, though; He counted the months we had been together and on the 26th day of every month he would say ‘Happy Anniversary’ my darling. He never forgot and never missed a month. He always told me that I was his world and the reason the sun lit his universe. When we reached our five hundredth month mark, we had a big celebration. He celebrated every day that we spent together. He was my soul-mate, and I was his soul”…
“I just miss him”…
Oh to have experienced this kind of love… As I watched her walk across the room, shoulders hunched, her beautiful face etched with its micro crisscross of age lines – The wealth of a life well lived, I saw sadness and yes despair, but I also glimpsed the raw wonder of a soul that has been loved, a body that has been cherished, a heart that has been cradled. A reflection of lives lived in love and for love… Oh to know this kind of love…
We hugged and as she turned to leave, she said again “I miss him” but I know he misses me too… I will be fine, and even though I can no longer celebrate the months, I will learn to celebrate the years…
Oh to have this kind of love.
* This is representative of an actual real-life narrative…

Leave a Reply

